Quick Help

Knowledgebase is a categorized collection of answers to frequently asked questions (FAQ) and articles. You can read articles in this category or select a subcategory that you are interested in.



 Handing back and iDevice. (Turn off find my iPhone for activation lock)

Solution

One security feature of iOS and Mac devices (iPads, iPhones and iPods and Macs) is that if you have "Find my iPhone" enabled and you lose your device,

You can see where it is on https://www.icloud.com at Find My iPhone

 

Even if someone completely wipes your device, they wont be able to use it because of a feature in Find my iPhone called "Activation Lock" where it remembers the last used Apple ID account.

Even if wiped, you'll be asked to log into the previously used iCloud account during the initial setup

(More info at https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201365 )

 

Unfortunately, this means that after you hand back your iPad at the end of it's life,

You need to make sure you log out of iCloud on the device and disable "Find my iPhone".

 

Just sign out of iCloud and then erase all content and settings. This completely erases your device, removes it from your Apple ID, and turns off Find My iPhone.

 

In iOS 10.3 or later:

 

Tap Settings > [your name].

Scroll down and tap Sign Out. 

Enter your Apple ID password and tap Turn Off.

Go back to Settings.

Tap General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings.

 

 

In iOS 10.2 or earlier:

 

Tap Settings > iCloud.

Scroll down and tap Sign Out > Sign Out.

Tap Delete from My iPhone and enter your password.

Go back to Settings.

Tap General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings.

 

 

If you no longer have the device:

 

If you can’t turn off Find My iPhone on the actual device because it's no longer in your possession,  then remove it from "Find My iPhone" on https://www.icloud.com at Find My iPhone

1. Go to Find My iPhone on iCloud.com.

 

2. Click All Devices, select the old/retired/offline device, then click Remove from Account.

 

3.Click the Remove from Account button

If you don’t see Remove from Account, click All Devices again, then click the Delete button next to the device.

 

 

This will help things run smoothy when handing back to the lease company or when redeploying to a new user so we dont have to chase you at a later date

It can be difficult to track down a user with only the following info as given by Apple as the previous owner...

 

 
Was this article helpful? yes / no

 
Powered by Help Desk Software HESK, in partnership with SysAid Technologies